Top teams beaten in winter league at Port

The clubhouse at Port Bannatyne Golf Club.
The clubhouse at Port Bannatyne Golf Club.

It was a strange day at the office in the final qualifying matches of The Rothesay Motor Services Winter League. at Port Bannatyne Golf Club.

This was especially so in League A where both of the top teams were beaten, thereby leaving the status quo at the top of the League.

Calum MacPhail and Robert Jardine were beaten by Mike Ivory and Frankie Lintermans by the score of 1 up but because Donald Standaloft and Hector Whitelaw were also beaten by Allan Stewart and Jim Hinshelwood by the same score then they qualify as top of League A with Donald and Hector in second spot.

Third qualifiers in that league are Graham Fisher and Iain McFarlane who defeated James Webster and Connor McLymont by a comfortable 5&4. They leapfrog Jimmy Dunn & John Marshall who had already completed their campaign and with both pairings on 12 points Graham and Iain go third by virtue of their better points difference.

League A table toppers are sponsor David Reid and Mark Crichton who, with their 4&3 win over Craig Shanks & Alex Greer (J), are the only undefeated pairing out of 14 throughout the qualifying rounds.

Second place in League B goes to Gordon Peacock and Colin Renfrew who defeated Arran Dunn and Joe Livingstone by 4&3 and jumped above Sam Jamieson and David Driver who lost to Liam Shanks and David Greer by 3&2. This then put Sam and David in third place and Liam and David in the fourth qualifying spot with both pairings on 13 and points difference separating the two.

The quarter final draw for the knockout stages to be played this Sunday is: 9am R. Jardine & C MacPhail V L. Shanks & D. Greer; 9.10am D. Standaloft & H. Whitelaw V S. Jamieson & D. Driver; 9.20am G. Fisher & I. McFarlane V C. Renfrew & G. Peacock; 9.30am J. Dunn & J. Marshall V M. Crichton & D. Reid.

At the other end of the leagues it now becomes a battle to avoid the wooden spoon with each pairing retaining the points they have accrued during the qualifying campaign and now play their opposite numbers in the other leagues over the next three weeks with this Sunday’s fixtures being as follows:

8.30am A. Steady & J. Hinshelwood V C Shanks & A. Greer (J); 8.40am M. Ivory & F. Lintermans V A. Dunn & J. Livingstone; 8.50am J Webster & C. McLymont V G. McIntyre & J. Thom.

Full details of the last three days of fixtures are posted in the foyer notice board.