The Firth of Clyde Trophy comes back to Rothesay

The Firth of Clyde Trophy winners from Rothesay Golf Club.
The Firth of Clyde Trophy winners from Rothesay Golf Club.

The historic Firth of Clyde Trophy, widely thought to be the oldest team trophy in the world, was won on Saturday at Largs Golf Club by a Rothesay team.

The five-man team consisted of George Reynolds, Ian White, Calum McKirdy, Allan Smith Jnr, and Steven McDonald.

The three scores which made up the winning total of 220 were 72 from Ian White, 73 from George Reynolds, and 75 from Calum McKirdy. This proved to be one better than the host club.

It was a great victory for Rothesay as these successes do not happen that often.

* The Jubilee Cup took place on Wednesday. The winner was Allan Smith Jnr with a 71-5=66. Jimmy Crawford was second with 75-8=67.

Only one two was scored by the winners brother Derek at the 11th.

* The Friday medal on the Friday, June 3, was won by Frank Lee with 79-14=65, Frank was one shot better than ‘the likely lads’ Ryan McKirdy and Stephen Reynolds who both had net 66’s. Twos were scored by Euan McGregor at the 9th, and Willie Glen who birdied the 8th and the 11th.

* The Archie Shaw Memorial Trophy will take place this weekend on Saturday, June 11. The draw has been made for the 10.30am shotgun start and this is on display in the clubhouse. Players are asked to reach their allocated tee on time.

Teams are also reminded that a donation of a bottle will greatly help the closest to hole prizes and raffle. The format is best two net scores from 3/4 of handicap to count at each hole.

The result of the June medal will be published next week.