Prize night at Bute Shinty Club

Bute Shinty Club's award winners.
Bute Shinty Club's award winners.

Bute Shinty Club held their annual player of the year awards presentation in the clubhouse last Saturday.

The evening was enjoyed by a large gathering of members, players, family, supporters and friends of all ages.

The ‘players’ player of the year’ award went to Ryan James Craig, who also picked up the ‘young player of the year’ award.

The ‘first team manager’s player’ award, chosen by Ted McDonald, went to Ben Clarke.

And the ‘second team manager’s player’ award was given by David Kilpatrick to Andrew McLachlan.

Gifts were also presented to several club members who had recently retired from club duties.

Among those to receive gifts were Tommy Howat, who ran the club’s lottery; George McNeish, who was the clubhouse convenor and barman; and Nancy Gourlay, who helped served the post-match meals and provided 
delicious baking.

A spokesman for the club said: ‘‘Many thanks also to all who helped in making the occasion a very successful night.

‘‘Well done to them all, very well deserved.’’