Curling: Bute players compete for Caldwell Trophy

editorial image

Colin Sharp skipped Donald Kinnear and Nancy Kinnear to victory in Bute Curling Club’s Caldwell Trophy competition this week.

Colin’s rink defeated Beck Reid (skip), Ron Forrester, Skelmorlie guest Helen Hay and Hugh Yeamans 4-1 in the first game, but Beck’s rink recovered to beat Donnie MacLeod (skip), Douglas Macdonald, Bill Stein and Margaret MacLeod 10-2 in the second.

The third game saw Colin defeat Donnie 6-4 to make sure of his rink’s overall victory.

Full report in this week’s issue of The Buteman - on sale from Thursday, November 14.