Bowls: Reynolds name is first on new Rothesay trophy

Joan and Nan Reynolds were the first winners of the new McAlister’s Milk Pairs Trophy at Rothesay Bowling Club on Sunday.

Sixteen teams competed for the brand new trophy and generous cash prizes sponsored by Rhona and Ninian McAlister, and despite some bad weather at the start of the day, the sky cleared and a great afternoon was had by all taking part.

Nan and Joan took the trophy and cash prizes of £50 each ahead of runners-up Johnny Walker and Dino Zavaroni, with John Gilchrist and Marr Martin completing the podium and Pat McKirdy and Ray from Skelmorlie finishing fourth.

President John Gilchrist thanked Rhona and Ninian for their sponsorship and Stuart Gilchrist presented Rhona with a bouquet of flowers on behalf of the club.

John also thanked Jock McKirdy for keeping the green in such good condition, David Reynolds for being in charge of the scoring, Dino for the soup at half-time and Julie for the buffet. All who took part are looking forward to the competition becoming a regular on the fixture list.

This Saturday, September 22, sees the closing of the green at the end of the 2012 season, and all are cordially invited.

Refurbishment of the clubhouse and exterior will begin shortly - keep an eye on The Buteman for news of the progress of the work over the next few months!