Bowls: Ardbeg hosts Millennium Trophy triples

The annual gents triples competition for the Millennium Trophy took place on Sunday at Ardbeg Bowling Club.

Twelve triples from the host club and Rothesay, Skelmorlie, Wellington Park (Greenock) and Kay Park (Kilmarnock) were welcomed, and five games of seven ends were played, two before lunch and three after with prizes awarded for the first three places on a league basis.

At the close of an excellent day’s play, dinner was served by the catering ladies, and vice-president Danny Bowie praised the kitchen and bar staff for their efforts and thanked all the visiting clubs for their participation.

A special mention was given for the generous sponsorship of Donald Ferguson for the day’s prize money, after which the results were announced as follows.

Winners - E. Morrow, L. Price, J. Miller (10 pts +29 shots)

Runners-up - B. MacKillop, R. McCrae, F. Baker (9pts +26 shots)

Third - A. Williamson, J Gilmour, J. Preston (6pts +5 shots)

Winning skip Jimmy Miller proposed a vote of thanks to all who had contributed to an enjoyable day’s bowling.