Bowls: Ardbeg club champions are crowned

Share this article

Liz McHugh and Jimmy Gilmour won the ladies’ and gents’ club championship titles at Ardbeg Bowling Club this week.

Liz, a multiple winner of the trophy, retained her championship crown with a 21-12 win over Kathleen Bell in the final, while Jimmy Gilmour, who suffered a narrow defeat in the 2011 final, secured his first gents’ title with a convincing 21-10 defeat of Gordon Peacock.

George McNae won the Spence Cup by defeating Ronnie McCrae 21-12; the three winners received their trophies from club president Albert Tittensor at the close of play.