Bowls: Annual prize-giving at Ardbeg Bowling Club

editorial image

Ardbeg Bowling Club’s annual prize-giving ceremony brought down the curtain on the club’s 2014 outdoor season on Sunday, October 5.

The top prizes, the ladies’ and gents’ singles championships, were won this year by Liz McHugh and Brian Caird, though Liz and Brian weren’t the only ones wearing broad smiles as club president Danny Bowie handed out the season’s silverware.

Danny had earlier welcomed members and guests to the club’s mixed closing day, in which, after ten ends of bowls, the winners were Andy Williamson and Beverley Scoullar, and the runners-up Sheena McLean, Lorna Tonner and Josie Fowler.

After tea and sandwiches following the close of play, Danny thanked everyone for attending and praised all those who had conteributed to an enjoyable season for the club before moving on to present the club’s trophies for the year.

* For the full story, including a complete list of all the club’s 2014 trophy winners, see the next issue of The Buteman - on sale from Thursday, October 16.