Bowling finals reach an exciting climax

A FASCINATED audience had plenty to enjoy at the finals of this year’s Isle of Bute Carpet Bowls Association open tournament at the Pavilion.

The ladies’ pairs final saw Rene Speirs and Violet Westland draw first blood against Lorna Tonner and Betty Morrow with a three at the first end, though Lorna and Betty hit back with a two at the third after a non-scoring second end.

Neither pair was allowed to build up a real head of steam, but Rene and Violet scored more consistently to open up a 12-6 lead after 12 ends.

A two at the 13th end helped Lorna and Betty cut the gap, but Rene and Violet responded by picking up five shots over the next three ends and went on to win 18-13.

Helen Wood and Jimmy Burke lost the opening end of the mixed pairs final to Jean McArthur and Haig Reynolds, and though they responded well with four shots at the next two ends, Jean and Haig replied with a five at the fourth.

Helen and Jimmy, answered with a four at the very next end went on to win four ends in succession, scoring six shots in the process, to open up a 13-9 advantage, adding two more at the 14th end to close out a 15-11 win.

George Reynolds and Harry Milligan edged out Robert Rich and Duncan Williams in the gents’ pairs final.

Nan Reynolds got off to a blistering start in the ladies’ singles final against Jean McArthur, scoring 13 shots without reply over the first six ends - and though Jean battled bravely, her best being a three at the 13th end, Nan’s early advantage always left her in control and the final score was 21-6 in Nan’s favour.

Two more Rothesay clubmates, John Gilchrist and Matt Martin, did battle in the gents’ singles final, and though John opened strongly, scoring a three at the first end and going on to lead 6-2 after five, Matt scored consistently well to leave the match tied at 8-8 after ten ends and 10-10 after fourteen.

Matt, however, scored six shots to John’s one over the following five ends and a four at the 20th end set him up for a final winning margin of 21-15.

The open tournament prizes, along with those for the IOBCBA’s regular season competitions, were presented by former president/secretary Hector Whitelaw at the close of play.