Medals complete final line-up

The clubhouse at Rothesay Golf Club.
The clubhouse at Rothesay Golf Club.

Rothesay Golf Club’s final two medals before this year’s medal finals were played over the last week, with the results as follows.

In the September medal Saturday, September 5, the winner in division one was John Duncan who won on the countback from Ryan McKirdy after both players had returned net 67s.

Division two was won by Frank Lee with the lowest score of the day, 79 (net 65), which resulted in Frank’s handicap being cut to 13.

Division three was won by Stewart Hogarth with an 86 (net 68).

Four twos were recorded on the day. Ian White eagled the 15th hole, Graham McArthur got a two at the 11th and Ryan McKirdy and Frank Lee got their twos at the 13th.

In the Autumn Handicap on Sunday, the winner in division one was Graham McArthur with a net 67 (74-7).

Jim Milliken won division two, also with a net score of 67, though he required a countback to beat Frank Lee to top spot.

Division three was won by Colin Spear with a net 73 (89-18). Colin was also one of two players to get a two on Sunday, the other being Jim Milliken.

The players below have qualified for this year’s medal finals on Sunday, September 20, with the division 1 players competing for the McNeil Trophy.

Division 1: A. Murray, G. Hanson, T. Duncan, G. McArthur, S. McAlister, C. Charker and J. Duncan.

Division 2: J. Crawford, I. Simpson, J. Ewing, D. Cameron, H. Charker, F. Lee and J. Milliken.

Division 3: J. McClean, A. Smith (snr), S. Hogarth, G. Steele, R. McKechnie, D. Torrance, R. Gemmell and C. Spear.

Would all players wishing to play in this year’s club Ryder Cup on September 27 enter their names on the sheet in the locker room.

Saturday, October 3 will see the October Medal and first round of the Winter Cup.

Saturday, October 10 sees a four man team event which has been sponsored by Jimmy and Laura Crawford and again a sheet is up for those wishing to enter a team.

It’s also time to start thinking about this year’s Winter League which will start with the singles league on Saturday 17 and the pairs on Sunday, October 18.