Golf: Youth is key to Port team trophy success

THE youthful quartet of Thomas McCready, Ryan McKirdy, Ian McMurchie and Craig McFarlane, under the enigmatic name of W is for R, posted a record score of 117 to win the Hanson Four-Man Team Trophy by three shots at Port Bannatyne on Sunday.

There wasn’t quite sufficient youth in the ranks of runners-up Back to the Future, where the fresh-faced David Whitelaw and Matthew Dunn were supposedly supported by those hoary veterans Hector Whitelaw and I.L. MacLeod.

Losing out for second on countback was the Hanson’s Number One team of Robert Jardine, Davie Driver, Michael Murty and Colin Nicol.