Golf: club captain wins Port Open title

Share this article

Port Bannatyne club captain Ian Shaw captured the MacLeod Homes Port Open title on Saturday, returning a score of 69 late in the day to finish one shot clear of the Rothesay pair of Angus Murray and Rory McEwan.

Graham McArthur took fourth place with a round of 71, while Rothesay’s Jimmy Burke won the handicap section with a net 64, one ahead of the Port’s Jack Paterson.

Meanwhile, 1988 captain Roddie Shaw led George Reynolds, Alan Smith and David Greer to victory in the latest of the Port club’s centenary celebration competitions, the Past Captains’ Centenary Scramble, on Sunday.

Ninety-two players took part in the competition, with Roddie and co posting a net score of 51.4 to just edge 1992 captain Tommy Duncan and his team-mates Arthur Hunter, Neil Ritchie and John Duncan into second place.

More details of both competitions in this week’s issue of The Buteman - on sale from Thursday, July 12.