Brandanes’ fury at late leveller

A FURIOUS Rothesay Brandanes team were forced to settle for a point on Saturday after visitors Gartcosh snatched a 2-2 draw with a 93rd-minute equaliser - when the ball appeared to be punched into the net.

The Rothesay side had taken a 2-0 lead against their north Lanarkshire visitors through James Sprowl’s first half header and a penalty converted by captain Neil Whitelaw in the opening minute of the second period.

But Gartcosh midfielder Kevin McKendry pulled one back with half an hour to go - and in a frantic final few minutes, Whitelaw was ordered off for dissent before McKendry’s dramatic stoppage-time leveller, with referee James Jamieson ignoring the Brandanes’ furious pleas that McKendry had used his hand to direct the ball into the net.

Read Nino Robertson’s match report in full in the new issue of The Buteman - on sale on Thursday, October 20.