Crichton is cricket player of the year

editorial image
Share this article

The annual dinner and prize-giving evening for Bute County Cricket Club was held on Friday night at Port Bannatyne Golf Club.

After enjoying an excellent meal, the players and supporters settled down to hear the announcement of the 2010 prize winners, introduced by club president Ian Downie and presented by club sponsor Katie Ross of Mac’s Bar.

Winners are as follows: Most Catches in the Season - Gary Dickinson; Batsman - Mark Crichton; Bowling - Chris South; Best Fielding Performance - Gary Dickinson; Captains Award - Francois Linterman; Clubman of the year - Guy Crichton; Player of the Year - Mark Crichton.

* After Bute’s promotion from the fifth division the league has been reformed and now Bute find themselves promoted to the Championship which is the equivalent of the old third division.

Pre season training is now in full swing and takes place every Friday from 7-9pm at Rothesay Academy. Any players very welcome to attend wether a seasoned cricketer or a beginner - we would be happy to see you there.

Bute’s first league game is on the 23rd April at home to Kingholm.