Six go into poll battle

Share this article

six names will appear on the Argyll and Bute ballot paper at the Scottish Parliament election on Thursday, May 6.

Nominations closed on Tuesday afternoon, and when the final list of candidates was announced by returning officer Sally Loudon a short time later, it was revealed that independent George Doyle, who also stood in the Westminster election last year, had thrown his hat into the ring alongside the five candidates to have already declared their intention.

The six Argyll and Bute candidates, in alphabetical order, are George Doyle (Independent), Alison Hay (Liberal Democrat), Jamie McGrigor (Conservative), Mick Rice (Labour), Michael Russell (SNP) and George White (Liberal).