Beginning of the end to Argyll and Bute power games?

The beginning of an end to the long and unedifying power struggle at the heart of Argyll and Bute Council just might take effect this week.

A motion has been brought forward seeking to remove all the senior political positions on the council, apart from the provost and depute provost, with immediate effect.

The motion - proposed and seconded by Oban councillors Duncan MacIntyre and Iain Angus MacDonald respectively - asks that the ‘Argyll and Bute for Change’ group be confirmed as the new administration in charge of the political running of the authority.

The motion - set to be debated at a full council meeting on June 27 - also recommends that a group of nine elected councillors should liaise with the authority’s senior officials on council business, and should “take forward a review of the political management structure of the council, with a report back to a special council meeting in early August”.

Seven members of that nine-strong group are named in the motion: they are Duncan MacIntyre and Iain Angus MacDonald (Oban North and Lorn), Dick Walsh and Michael Breslin (Dunoon), Gordon Blair (Cowal), Dougie Philand (Mid Argyll) and Vivien Dance (Helensburgh Central).

The other two members of the group have yet to be named.

The motion follows months of turmoil in the council chamber at Kilmory, largely surrounding the SNP group which took power, along with a group of independents, after the May 2012 local elections.