MSPs ask Boundary Commission to reject proposals

Ward boundary proposals for Bute.
Ward boundary proposals for Bute.

Four MSPs, with responsibilities for constituents in Argyll and Bute, have written to the Minister for Parliamentary Business, objecting to the boundary commission’s recommendations for the authority.

The proposals, which would see the number of wards cut from 11 to ten, with a loss of three councillors, have received widespread criticism.

The letter from Michael Russell MSP, Donald Cameron MSP, David Stewart MSP, and John Finnie MSP, states: “We write as MSPs representing Argyll and Bute - both at constituency and regional level - for four of the five parties within the Scottish Parliament. The fifth party, the Liberal Democrats, has no Scottish parliamentary representation for the area.

“During the Scottish Parliament election campaign the issue of local electoral boundaries was raised at every hustings and regularly in othere places. The draft proposals from the Local Government Boundaries Commission appeared to us to have been decisively rejected by the local population and we are aware that the final proposals now published have not secured any greater degree of public support. They have also been rejected by the local authority.

“We understand that every political party in Argyll and Bute regards the proposals as unacceptable and likely to decrease democratic accountability and reduce efficiency and effectiveness in the delivery of public services. The proposals will also erode community cohesion.

“For these reasons, and recognising the failure of the Commission to secure any significant level of public support for the plans now submitted to the Scottish Government, we ask that you reject the recommendations for Argyll and Bute in their entirety.”

To view the recommendations, click here.