Lodge installation in Rothesay

Lodge Rothesay St. John No. 292 held its installation on Saturday, December 10.
Lodge Rothesay St. John No. 292 held its installation on Saturday, December 10.

Rothesay’s Masonic Hall was packed on Saturday with local and visiting members from as far afield as Australia, Wyoming, and Cheshire for the installation of Lodge Rothesay St. John No. 292’s new Right Worshipful Master, Angus McEwan, and his office-bearers for the session 2016/17.

The ceremony was conducted by Installing Masters, Ellis Rutherford and James McMillan, Past Masters of 292.

A large deputation from the Provincial Grand Lodge of Argyll and the Isles, headed by Provincial Grand Chaplain, Kenneth Harvey, was welcomed by retiring RWM, Hugh McCormack, at the start of the meeting.

Afterwards, an excellent dinner and harmony was enjoyed by all, during which the customary toasts were observed.

On Sunday morning, members attended the United Church of Bute for Morning Worship, conducted by the Minister, the Rev. J. Owain Jones.

Office bearers 2016-17:

Right Worshipful Master - Angus McEwan, Jnr.

Depute Master - Angus McEwan, Snr.

Immediate Past Master - Hugh L. McCormack, P.M

Substitute Master - Gordon Calder, P.M.

Senior Warden - Ian J. McLachlan

Junior Warden - Mark J. Girvan

Secretary - James S. McMillan, P.M

Treasurer - S. Ellis N. Rutherford, P.M

Almoner - Ian A. Harrison, P.M.

Director of Ceremonies - A. Iain Morrison

Chaplain - Ewan Cameron, P.M.

Senior Deacon - Alastair Paterson

Junior Deacon - Jacob McEwan

Architect - John McMillan

Jeweller - Robert B. Sinclair, P.M

Bible Bearer - D. Craig Laird

Sword Bearer - Robert Chrystie

Director of Music - Timothy M. B. Saul

Piper - Neall R. Sinclair

Marshal - William Galbraith

Standard Bearer - William Allan

Inner Guard - Alan McFarlane

President of Stewards - David Docherty

Steward - Paul McIlroy

Steward - Greig Fisher

Tyler - John G. McIlroy