Linlithgow wins Beautiful Scotland’s top prize in Rothesay ceremony

LINLITHGOW succeeded Rothesay as the holder of Beautiful Scotland’s premier award at the annual Beautiful Scotland awards ceremony on Monday.

Held in Rothesay for the first time, the ceremony at the Pavilion saw communities across Scotland rewarded for their floral displays, environmental awareness and their commitment to keeping their communities green, sustainable and good-looking.

Bad weather meant representatives from several communities were unable to attend the event, while many of those who were present were forced to revise their travel plans after strong winds led to the cancellation of all ferry services between Rothesay and the mainland.

Rothesay itself was not represented on the list of 2011 nominees following the town’s success in winning the Rosebowl last year, which led to its nomination in the coastal resort category of the Britain in Bloom competition; the winners of that contest will be announced at a ceremony in St Andrews on September 25.

The 2011 Beautiful Scotland award winners were as follows.

Wee village – Beautiful Kilconquhar.

Small village – Muthill In Bloom.

Large village – Melrose In Bloom.

Small town – Friends of Bridge of Allan.

Medium town – Burgh Beautiful Linlithgow.

Large town – The People’s Project Dumfries.

Flatted communities – Wheatfield Back Green Association.

Urban community – Dyce In Bloom.

Coastal resort – North Berwick In Bloom.

Small city – Beautiful Airdrie.

City – Aberdeen City Council.

New entrant award – Milngavie In Bloom.

Horticultural award – Blairgowrie & Rattray In Bloom.

Permanent landscaping award – Beautiful Wishaw.

Zero Waste Scotland award – Plains Community Futures Group.

Royal Caledonian Horticultural Society Trophy – Aberdeen City Council.

Sustainable Development award – City of Glasgow.

VisitScotland award for tourism – Wick Flower Baskets.

Scottish Natural Heritage biodiversity award – Brig In Bloom (Bridge of Earn).

Community Involvement award – Flourishing Forth.

Sensory Garden award – Aberdour Village In Bloom.

Something Special award – Condorrat Tenants and Residents Association.

Rosebowl – Burgh Beautiful Linlithgow.