Christine ‘thrilled’ with health excellence award

editorial image

THE Bute winner of a top prize at NHS Highland’s annual staff excellence awards has told The Buteman she was “absolutely thrilled” to receive the accolade.

Christine McArthur’s work as the health board’s falls prevention co-ordinator saw her chosen as a joint winner of the ‘Improving Quality’ award at the Recognising Excellence ceremony in Inverness on Friday.

Her award followed several years of research into how to prevent falls in older people, and the collection of extensive statistics to help shape teaching and training methods among the health board’s staff.

Christine told us: “I owe a lot to the late Dr Tom Morton for this award – when I was offered the chance to take up a studentship with Paisley University in 2005, he was the one who gave me the encouragement to do it.

“Living on Bute means I’ve been able to develop some of my ideas here before rolling them out across the rest of the Highlands – it’s good to be able to do research which has significance to the real lives of local people.”

The award citation said Christine “has been championing falls prevention even before she took up her post and has used her personal passion and enthusiasm to secure engagement with staff.

“Recognised for her dedication to improving the quality of life for all affected by falls, the judging panel agreed with the nomination that Highland is ‘very lucky to have such staff’.”

NHS Highland’s employee director, Ray Stewart, said: “I have said before that we cannot underestimate the impact on patients and carers that our staff have.

“We received a number of nominations from across Highland and it is clear that our staff are very well thought of and have made a real difference to people’s lives.

“It was difficult to decide on this year’s finalists as the calibre of nominee was so high. I would like to offer my congratulations to all finalists and my thanks to those who took the time to nominate.”

Thirteen winners were chosen in the eight award categories; the other winners were based in Inverness, Skye, Bonar Bridge and Fort William.