Four into three for Bute Community Council by-election

Four candidates will contest three vacant places on Bute Community Council.
Four candidates will contest three vacant places on Bute Community Council.
Share this article

Four Bute residents have thrown their hats into the ring for three vacant places on the island’s community council.

The candidates are Jean Moffat of The Hermitage in Ascog, Jim Mitchell of St Ninian’s Cottage, Straad, David C. Laird of 23 Wallace Avenue, Rothesay and Hugh Moodie of 12 Bryce Avenue, Rothesay.

The four nominations mean that for the third year running, Bute’s voters will be asked to take part in a postal ballot for the first rung of government - suggesting that interest in democracy on the island remains alive and well.

Twenty-seven community councils across Argyll and Bute are holding by-elections this autumn to fill vacant seats, and Bute is one of only two - the other being Kilninver and Kilmelford, near Oban - where there are more candidates than there are places available.

Five candidates contested two vacant Bute Community Council seats in the autumn of 2014, with Tony Harrison and Nina McDonald topping the poll, and 26 people stood for 20 places at the last full BCC election in 2013.

The three vacancies this year are the result of the resignations over the last 12 months of Carol Sprowl, Kevin Bye and Jean Donald.

Postal ballot papers will be issued from September 24 onwards, and must be returned to Argyll and Bute Council by Thursday, October 8 (full details of how to vote will be sent out with the ballot papers).