Bute’s young volunteers recognised in ceremony

Rothesay Academy Saltire Award certificate recipients.
Rothesay Academy Saltire Award certificate recipients.
Share this article

A number of Bute’s young volunteers received recognition for their hard work at a Saltire Awards ceremony in Rothesay Joint Campus on Wednesday afternoon.

The scheme, which is coordinated at Rothesay Academy by Ailsa Cassidy and is also coordinated separately by Achievement Bute among other organisations, formally recognises the commitment and contribution of youth volunteering to voluntary organisations, supported by the Scottish Government.

Ailsa spoke to the school about the benefits of becoming a volunteer, and spoke of a number of achievements Saltire participants already have under their belts, which included organising a football tournament, and visiting residents of Rothesay Court with a ‘memory board’ of old photos of the island, to help establish links with the older generation.

Sam Miller from Achievement Bute was also in attendance, and spoke of his own experience of volunteering on the island. Sam added that he attributed his place at university, in the main, to the hours he accrued by volunteering for Achievement Bute, and advised pupils that employers look very favourably on those who give of their time for others.

Academy pupils who received certificates for 50 hours of volunteering were as follows: Kaitlin Malcolm, Dylan Wilson, Ryan McTaggart, Choe Murphy, Chloe Tritschler, AJ McFarlane, Stuart Gilchrist, and Hayley McGuire. Thomas Lilley earned his 100 hour certificate.

A number of pupils who recently finished at Rothesay Academy also achieved certificates. Joshua McFadden, Jessie Docherty, Laura Sprowl, Bonnie Caldwell, Ruth Sweeney, Pia Hadden, and Daniel Stenhouse, all earned their ten hour certificate.

Megan Morrison received a 25 hours certificate, Michael Mitchell earned his 50 hours certificate, Jamie Charlton and Daniel McDermott both received theirs for 100 hours, and Amie Speirs gained her 200 hour certificate.

The award winners from Achievement Bute were: Thomas Lilley (250 hours), David Beckett (200 hours), Amy Dunn (150 hours), Conor MacDonald (150 hours), Caitlin Fenner (100 hours), Maggie Catlin (100 hours), Nina McDonald (100 hours), Nicole Troman (100 hours), Jamie Murray (50 hours), Kenny Lindsay (50 hours), Megan McDonald (50 hours), Layla Templeton (50 hours), and Thomas Howat (50 hours).

Congratulations to all!