Deadline nears for council election candidates

FANCY standing as a candidate in the forthcoming Argyll and Bute Council election? If so, you now have less than a week to do it.

Voters in the Isle of Bute electoral ward will go to the polls on Thursday, May 3 to choose three councillors to represent them for the next five years; across Argyll and Bute, 36 councillors will be chosen in 11 multi-member wards stretching from Oban to Cardross and from Colonsay to Campbeltown.

Candidates’ nominations must be submitted to the returning officer, Sally Loudon, by 4pm on Thursday, March 29, and anyone the authority has urged anyone interested in standing for election to contact the council’s election office as soon as possible.

So far, five candidates have declared their intention to fight for the three Bute seats - the defending trio of Isobel Strong and Robert Macintyre (SNP) and Len Scoullar (Independent), plus Peter Wallace for the Conservatives and Adam Bellshaw for Labour.

Nomination forms and guidance for prospective candidates are available online (click on the link to the right of this article), at local council customer service points (the Bute one being at Eaglesham House in Mountpleasant Road), or by calling the election office on (01546) 603264.