Bute councillor is new provost of Argyll and Bute

Isobel Strong was appointed as the new provost of Argyll and Bute Council on Tuesday.
Isobel Strong was appointed as the new provost of Argyll and Bute Council on Tuesday.
Share this article

BUTE SNP councillor Isobel Strong is the new provost of Argyll and Bute Council.

Cllr Strong, a member of the authority since 1999, was confirmed in the post at the inaugural meeting of the new council in Lochgilphead on Tuesday.

“It is a great honour to be Provost of Argyll and Bute,” she said, “and I’m delighted to be elected.

“Billy Petrie [the former provost who retired before this month’s election after 45 years as a councillor] will be a hard act to follow but I will represent the people of the area as best I can and treat all councillors fairly.”

New council leader Roddy McCuish, whose team of spokespersons and committee chairs has also been confirmed in full, has appealed for unity and transparency in the new council, and met with the leaders of the opposition groups in the chamber prior to Tuesday’s full council meeting to outline his plans.Cllr Strong’s Bute SNP colleague, Robert Macintyre, is the new chair of the council’s Bute and Cowal area committee.

The ruling coalition is outnumbered 5-4 in Bute and Cowal by opposition councillors, although it is not yet clear what the implications will be for decision-making on the local area committee.

Council leader Roddy McCuish said: “I am honoured to be the elected leader of Argyll and Bute Council and am delighted to get the opportunity to help form a new administration. Only by all 36 councillors working together can we make Argyll and Bute the place it deserves to be.”

Other senior appointments are as follows.

Lead councillor for human resources and sport - Douglas Philand. Deputy – Robert Macintyre.

Lead councillor for strategic finance and European affairs - James Robb. Deputy - Gordon Blair.

Lead councillor for planning and regulatory services – Sandy Taylor. Deputy - Mary-Jean Devon.

Lead councillor for energy, development, infrastructure and tourism - John Semple. Deputy – Louise Glen-Lee.

Lead councillor for adult care and learning disabilities – Anne Horn.

Lead councillor for roads and amenity services - Donald Kelly. Deputy – Robert G. MacIntyre.

Lead councillor for Children and Families - Mary Jean Devon. 

Lead councillor for education and lifelong learning - Mike Breslin. Deputy - Richard Trail

Lead councillor for community, culture, customer and communication is Louise Glen-Lee.

Lead councillor for housing – George Freeman. Deputy – Iain Angus MacDonald.

The lead councillor for the opposition is former leader Dick Walsh, and his deputy is the former depute leader, Ellen Morton.

The lead councillors of the four area committees are Robert Macintyre (Bute and Cowal), Anne Horn (Mid Argyll, Kintyre and the Islands), Louise Glen-Lee (Oban, Lorn and the Isles) and James Robb (Helensburgh and Lomond).

Their deputies are Gordon Blair, Donald Kelly, Elaine Robertson and Richard Trail respectively.

The chair of the council’s planning, protective services and licensing committee, and the chair of the Argyll and Bute licensing board, is Sandy Taylor, and his deputy is Mary-Jean Devon.