Bute baton-bearers all set for Commonwealth relay

The Queen's Baton Relay comes to Argyll and Bute on Sunday, July 13.

The Queen's Baton Relay comes to Argyll and Bute on Sunday, July 13.

Have your say

Eleven Bute residents will carry the Queen’s Baton on the final leg of its journey through Argyll and Bute this Sunday, July 13.

Murray Doyle, Alison Cowan, Sara O’Donnell, Sam Lawrie, Thomas Connor, Kevin Smith, Michael Mitchell, Kirsty Barrett, Robyn Horsburgh, Jenna Speirs and Grace Smith will all take part in the baton relay in the Dunoon area.

Murray, the very first baton-bearer in the Dunoon section of the relay, is due to set off from Hunter’s Grove, on the A815 about quarter of a mile north of the Hunter’s Quay ferry terminal, at around 5pm, with the other Bute participants following on very soon afterwards as the relay heads through Kirn and towards Dunoon town centre.

The relay’s Argyll and Bute journey will end at Dunoon Stadium at around 6.45pm, where an afternoon of baton-related fun gets under way at 2.30pm, lasting until 7.30pm.

More on this story in the July 11 issue of The Buteman, on sale now. For a full list of all the Argyll and Bute baton-bearers, together with useful information on parking, public transport and much more, go to www.argyll-bute.gov.uk/qbr - and keep an eye on this site for all The Buteman’s relay coverage!